All Natural Beer Soap, Just in Time for Fall

Leave a comment

September 3, 2013 by thesoapalchemist

It’s September.

School has started.

To me, that means it’s fall! Even though I know the real Autumnal Equinox is not until September 23rd, it might as well be fall now.

I look forward to so many creatively adventurous things in the fall. Apple picking followed by apple pie making. Trips to the pumpkin patch followed by pumpkin pie making and Halloween. Adventurous outings to the park and to Cunningham Falls. My family and I love to hike through the woods and enjoy the ever-changing leaves. We’ve enjoyed these things for years.

But, in the last couple years, I’ve also started to look forward to one more fall activity. Making beer soap.

I’m not much of a beer drinker. I’ve had many. I’ve liked few. I’m definitely not someone to waste a good beer on because I most definitely do not appreciate the difference. But I do enjoy beer in other ways.

Beer makes great batter for onion rings. It lends an earthy, cozy taste to a loaf of quick bread. And, it makes amazing natural soap. The beer soap I make in the fall is scented with an autumnal blend of clove, cinnamon and ginger, and has a touch of wheat germ for exfoliating goodness.

It’s just plain yummy, in a non-edible way, of course! I’ll be making beer soap all week- and it’ll be ready just in time for the actual start of fall.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,062 other followers

