Get Rid of Inbox as Default Search Engine

Leave a comment

September 3, 2013 by thesoapalchemist

This post was originally shared in 2012

****

Ok. So this is another post that isn’t about soap or anything soap related, except that I use a computer to conduct business and when my computer isn’t doing what I want it to do, it makes it very difficult to conduct business!

Somehow, in the past week or so, our computer’s default browser was changed. That really stunk, and even my natural soap couldn’t make the stink go away! (Sorry for the shameless soap plug, there).

We were happy with Google. It’s as comfortable as a pair of footy pajamas!! But somehow, Google went away  😦 , and was replaced by “Inbox.” 😦 😦 😦

Inbox is dumb. And I think it’s a dirty trick that Inbox’s developers manage to infect so many of us with their inferior, ineffective garbage! Whoever invented Inbox should apply for a job at Google, IMO,  and stop trying to reinvent the wheel. There’s no perfecting perfection.

Inbox search results just look like a boring list of things I’m not interested in. Inbox isn’t helpful and it lacks all of the quirky funness that Google has spoiled me with, like color, and a cool home page with artistic letters celebrating events, occasions, etc. I missed Google tremendously. I’ve reluctantly used the inbox-infected search bar for a few days now, but I’m mourning the loss of my beloved Google.

I tried uninstalling Inbox, using the Remove/Add Program wizard on my computer. That didn’t work. I tried System Restore, and took my computer back to a day before Inbox threatened to ruin my whole outlook on life. That didn’t work either. I tried shutting everything down, and rebooting– no help. But finally, today, I found the solution. And it is SO easy!!! So, I thought I would share it with the world, in case anyone else is as frustrated as I was with Inbox invading their computer.

*********************THE SOLUTION!!!!!************************

******HOW TO DELETE INBOX FROM YOUR SEARCH BAR***********

First,  type “about:config” in your address bar (no quotation marks, though). The next screen says something about voiding your warranty, but I clicked OK, and moved on. Even if my warranty is voided (which I doubt it is), it is totally worth it because this process will KILL INBOX! Then, type “Inbox” (again, no quotes) in the search bar. For each result that comes up, right click on it, and select “reset.” Close the page, and you’re done.

Now, when  you type things into your address bar, Google should be your default search engine (provided it was your default before), and Inbox will be GONE!!!!! G-O-N-E!! GONE!!
Can I just tell you how happy I am right now?? 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Someday I’m gonna write an ode to Google, my beloved search engine.

Leave a Reply

