Meet Erin, The Natural Soap Alchemist

Leave a comment

September 3, 2013 by thesoapalchemist

Hello!

I’m Erin, owner of The Natural Bar Soap Company, and maker of all of our hand made soaps. It’s not an understatement to say that I am addicted to soap making. My interest started with mere curiosity, and has grown into a full fledged addiction. I not only use soap and make soap, but I talk soap and dream soap! Anyone who has met me knows that soap always finds its way into the conversation.

I try to keep my soaps as natural as possible for a few reasons. First, I love the challenge. I prefer the unexpected results I get from going green with my ingredients and the discovery process I go through to find an ingredient that makes a truly beautiful, skin friendly soap.

More importantly, though, I can honestly say that there is no soap I would rather use, than my own natural soap. I don’t need all the hardeners, synthetic moisturizers and fake garbage that is in other brands. My natural soap has just what it needs to clean gently and leave my skin feel soft and hydrated.

Many people are amazed to hear about how I color and scent my soaps, and how hard I work at trying to find the perfect textures and shades using natural ingredients.  They are drawn in by the rainbow of colors I make and the interesting fragrances (which contain only natural ingredients, too). But they ultimately come back for more because of the way my natural soaps make their skin feel. Many say they no longer need lotion. They’ve discovered the goodness in a bar of carefully blended, hand made soap. They’ve become addicted, too. And, I’m quite proud of the fact that it’s all my fault. 🙂

I’ve always been a creative person, immersing myself in crafty pursuits and projects, but what makes soap making so different from my other hobbies is that it combines my love of science with my need to create. What’s more, I get to wear gloves and goggles, and what could possibly be more fun than that?

I’m not sure where the addiction ends, but really, I hope it never does. After years of making soaps all the while saying, “I think this is my new favorite!” I know that there are plenty of new ingredients and combinations yet to discover. There’s sure to be a new favorite natural soap just around the corner.

Today is a great day to make soap!

Leave a Reply

