Made From Scratch, Handmade, Natural Soap

1

January 16, 2014 by thesoapalchemist

As director of my marketing department, I obviously want to call attention to the things that make my products better than those of my competition.

Today, I’d like to shout out that our soaps are not only handmade, but also

*************MADE FROM SCRATCH!!!***************

Just like the craft of jewelry making exploded over the last 8 years or so, soap making seems to be experiencing similar growth. The reason for this may be that suppliers, desperate to profit from the next “big thing,” are offering more and more varieties of premade soap base. “You Too, Can Make Your Own, Natural, Healthy SOAPS at HOME!”  Premade base doesn’t require the home crafter to use lye because the factory has already taken that step. The result is the surge of “handmade” soap sellers at every craft event I’ve been to this past year.

Unfortunately most of these soaps (while certainly made with someone’s hands and personal creativity) are not made-from-scratch Cold Process soap.

The ingredients in these bases are getting more and more similar to what you might find in a from-scratch recipe. However, to create a base that can be melted and re-shaped, ship well in all climates, and have a long shelf life (and of course, to save on costs), most have added ingredients that you won’t find in a from-scratch bar.

Look for Propylene Glycol, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, and Sodium Stearate as red flags that the bar WAS NOT made from scratch by the crafter.

These ingredients, while not necessarily harmful, wouldn’t be used by an artisan soap crafter.

So why does this matter to you- our loyal soap addicts?

Artisan soap crafters have the ability to create their own recipes, tweaking them with various oils and butters to get exactly the qualities they want. Compared to the made-from-a-base soaps, Artisan bars of from-scratch soap are more bubbly, more moisturizing, more gentle, and my favorite: THEY DON’T LEAVE BEHIND ANY SORT OF RESIDUE or STICKINESS. They don’t have ingredients in them meant to improve anything other than their performance on your skin. They are simple. They are beautiful. They are one of a kind because my recipes are mine alone.

Thank you so much for your continued support of my brand, my products, and my little entrepreneurial self!

Erin 🙂

One thought on “Made From Scratch, Handmade, Natural Soap

  1. Larraine says:

    I love, love, love your soap. I love it’s natural clean fragrances, it’s soft pretty colors, it’s feeling on my skin. I love the way it perfumes my bathroom with a breath of fresh healthy clean soap smell. Which is why I always have extra bars displayed on my counter. Natural bar soap is the best. Thanks for making it just for me:)

Leave a Reply

